Glass Onion

music_football_web_etc

  • May 2006
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  

The NFL: It’s A Numbers Game

Posted by glassonion on May 16, 2006

I have to put my foot down here. I don't think the NFL should change their uniform numbering policy. According to KFFL's Hot Of The Wire, the NFL has changed the policy. Of course this will become known as the "Reggie Bush Rule" should it come to pass that he gets to keep using #5.

Call me old fashion, but there is just something really wrong with this. I mean I still haven't gotten used to seeing so many wide receivers with numbers in the teens and not in the 80's. Seriously, one of the reason's I can't stand to watch college football is because there are defensive ends wearing #9, linebackers wearing #34 and running backs wearing #5. It just doesn't feel right to me. I mean come on, how gross did it look to see Heath Shuler back in the 90's playing QB wearing #21? (By the way, is it now going to be the honorable Heath Shuler soon?

This one's a stretch, but it might actually have negative effect on refs calling the game. The whole reason the numbering system came into play was so that refs would be able to tell what position each player is a bit easier. What if there is a game on the line and Reggie Bush get tackled extra hard? Are the refs going to call roughing the passer? Alright, maybe I am just being a big fat baby, but it COULD happen.

Leave a Reply

 
